Seven Columbia Professors Elected Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

Dec. 21, 2009Bookmark and Share
Seven Columbia University professors have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), a prestigious scientific society established in 1848.
The new fellows, selected from across a range of fields, including political science, biology and epidemiology, are among 531 inductees from across the nation. This is the second year in a row that the AAAS has elected seven Columbia professors as new fellows.
The Columbia faculty selected as AAAS Fellows include:
Jeffrey A. Lieberman
Jeffrey A. Lieberman, the Lieber Professor of Psychiatry, is chairman of the Department of Psychiatry at Columbia University Medical Center. He was selected for his contributions to the field of clinical psychiatry, particularly for demonstrating the importance of early detection and intervention in limiting morbidity of schizophrenia and for clarifying the comparative effectiveness of different treatments for the disease.
W. Ian Lipkin
W. Ian Lipkin, the John Snow Professor of Epidemiology and professor of neurology and pathology, was selected for his distinguished contributions to pathogen discovery and to understanding mechanisms of microbial pathogenesis.
Don J. Melnick
Don J. Melnick,  Thomas Hunt Morgan Professor of Conservation Biology in the Department of Ecology, Evolution and Environmental Biology and professor of anthropology and biological sciences, was selected for his contributions to primatology and conservation biology, including the development of three centers at Columbia University. He was also chosen for promoting research, training and on-the-ground conservation, and for his efforts as a tireless spokesperson for the importance of sustainable living and environmental management.
Stephen S. Morse
Stephen S. Morse, professor of clinical epidemiology, is the originator of the concept of "emerging infections" and of infectious disease surveillance using the Internet. Morse was selected for pioneering innovation in global health and epidemiology.
Robert Y. Shapiro
Robert Y. Shapiro, professor of political science, was selected for his outstanding scholarship, which explores the relationship between public opinion and public policy at home and abroad, and for his contributions through administrative leadership and professional service.
Lorraine S. Symington
Lorraine S. Symington is professor of microbiology and immunology at the College of Physicians and Surgeons. She was selected for her distinguished contributions to the identification and characterization of budding yeast genes that function in homologous recombination and the preservation of genome stability.
Liang Tong
Liang Tong, professor of biological sciences, was selected for his distinguished contributions to the field of structural biology, particularly for the study of enzymes involved in fatty acid metabolism and proteins involved in pre-mRNA processing.
The 2009 AAAS Fellows will be recognized for their contributions to science and technology at the Fellows Forum on February 20, 2010 during the AAAS Annual Meeting in San Diego. The new Fellows will receive a certificate and a blue and gold rosette as a symbol of their distinguished accomplishments. This year’s AAAS Fellows were announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science on 18 December 2009.
Columbia on Facebook Columbia on Twitter Columbia on Google+ Columbia on iTunes U Columbia News RSS Columbia on YouTube


Brown Institute for Media Innovation Grand Opening

In Memoriam: Joseph F. Traub

Professor Joseph F. Traub, founder of the Computer Science department, died Monday, August 24, 2015 in Santa Fe, NM. He was 83. Most recently the Edwin Howard Armstrong Professor of Computer Science, Traub was an early pioneer in the field.

Traub's work on optimal algorithms and computational complexity applied to continuous scientific problems. 

Read more about Professor Traub.

The Record