School of the Arts Alumna Kathryn Bigelow Wins Major British Film Award

Feb. 22, 2010Bookmark and Share
Director Kathryn Bigelow on the set of "The Hurt Locker" (Image credit: Kathryn Bigelow and 42West)
Director Kathryn Bigelow on the set of The Hurt Locker
Image credit: Kathryn Bigelow and 42West
With less than two weeks until the Oscars, Kathryn Bigelow (SOA’81) and her film The Hurt Locker continue their winning streak. Over the weekend, Bigelow became the first woman to win the best director award at the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) awards. Bigelow and The Hurt Locker took home eight awards in total at the BAFTAs, including best picture, original screenplay (Mark Boal) and cinematography (Barry Ackroyd), among others.
After receiving the award for best director, Bigelow remarked on the importance of the achievement. “Women’s struggle for equity is a constant struggle,” she said to Reuters, “so if this can be a beacon of light, then wonderful.”
Bigelow’s BAFTA awards add to her already impressive achievements this film season. In January, she was awarded the Darryl F. Zanuck award for best feature for The Hurt Locker from the Producer’s Guild of America. In the same month, the Director’s Guild of America (DGA) awarded Bigelow its top prize, for “Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film.” Bigelow is the first female director to win the DGA award, which many film critics cite as a strong indicator for her chances to nab the best director Oscar.
Bigelow and The Hurt Locker have received nine Oscar nominations, including nods for best director, best picture, original screenplay and cinematography. Bigelow would be the first female director to win the best director award at the Academy Awards, which take place on March 7 at the Kodak Theatre in Hollywood.
Columbia on Facebook Columbia on Twitter Columbia on Google+ Columbia on iTunes U Columbia News RSS Columbia on YouTube


Brown Institute for Media Innovation Grand Opening

In Memoriam: Joseph F. Traub

Professor Joseph F. Traub, founder of the Computer Science department, died Monday, August 24, 2015 in Santa Fe, NM. He was 83. Most recently the Edwin Howard Armstrong Professor of Computer Science, Traub was an early pioneer in the field.

Traub's work on optimal algorithms and computational complexity applied to continuous scientific problems. 

Read more about Professor Traub.

The Record