Columbia Announces Winners of the 2010
Bancroft Prize

March 18, 2010Bookmark and Share
The authors of three acclaimed books—a biography of Depression-era photographer Dorothea Lange, a biography of first lady Abigail Adams and a study of the indigenous child-removal policies of the United States and Australian governments from 1880-1940—will be awarded the Bancroft Prize for 2010, Columbia University announced today.
Columbia Announces Winners of the 2010 Bancroft Prize
The winners are Linda Gordon, Dorothea Lange: A Life Beyond Limits (New York: W.W. Norton & Company, 2009); Woody Holton, Abigail Adams (New York: Free Press, 2009); and Margaret D. Jacobs, White Mother to a Dark Race: Settler Colonialism, Maternalism, and the Removal of Indigenous Children in the American West and Australia, 1880-1940 (Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 2009).
One of the most coveted honors in publishing, the Bancroft Prize is awarded annually by the trustees of Columbia to the authors of books of exceptional merit in the fields of American history, biography and diplomacy. The 2010 awards are for books published in 2009.
Columbia Provost Claude M. Steele will present the awards at a formal dinner on Wednesday, April 21, at the University’s Low Memorial Library, hosted by the department of history and University Libraries. The Bancroft Prize, which comes with an award of $10,000 to each author, is administered by James Neal, vice president for Information Services and University Librarian.
“Over 200 books were nominated for consideration by the Bancroft jury this year,” said Neal. “Once again, we were very impressed by the number of excellent submissions covering a broad range of themes, and are proud to honor this year’s winners. The Bancroft Prize is a celebration and affirmation of historical scholarship, the library, the book, the academic press, and the reportedly threatened scholarly monograph.”
Linda Gordon, author of Dorothea Lange: A Life Beyond Limits, is the Florence Kelley Professor of History at New York University. She is the author of numerous books and previously won the Bancroft Prize for The Great Arizona Orphan Abduction.
Woody Holton, author of Abigail Adams, is associate professor of history and American studies at the University of Richmond. He is the author of three books, including Unruly Americans and the Origins of the Constitution (Hill and Wang, 2007).
Margaret D. Jacobs, author of White Mother to a Dark Race: Settler Colonialism, Maternalism, and Indigenous Child Removal in the American West and Australia, 1880-1940, is professor of history and director of women’s and gender studies at the University of Nebraska at Lincoln. She is also the author of Engendered Encounters: Feminism and Pueblo Cultures, 1879-1934.
The Bancroft Prize was established at Columbia in 1948 with a bequest from Frederic Bancroft, the historian, author and librarian of the Department of State, to provide steady development of library resources, to support instruction and research in American history and diplomacy and to recognize exceptional books in those fields. Click here to view a list of previous winners. 
Columbia on Facebook Columbia on Twitter Columbia on Google+ Columbia on iTunes U Columbia News RSS Columbia on YouTube


Brown Institute for Media Innovation Grand Opening

In Memoriam: Joseph F. Traub

Professor Joseph F. Traub, founder of the Computer Science department, died Monday, August 24, 2015 in Santa Fe, NM. He was 83. Most recently the Edwin Howard Armstrong Professor of Computer Science, Traub was an early pioneer in the field.

Traub's work on optimal algorithms and computational complexity applied to continuous scientific problems. 

Read more about Professor Traub.

The Record