Three Faculty Members Named 2014 Sloan Research Fellows

Feb. 18, 2014Bookmark and Share

Three Columbia faculty members have been named research fellows by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, which awards two-year, $50,000 grants to support the work of exceptional early-career scientists and scholars whose achievements and potential identify them as rising stars. They are among a total of 126 new fellows working in the fields of chemistry, computer science, economics, mathematics, computational and evolutionary molecular biology, neuroscience, ocean sciences, and physics.

Columbia’s new 2014 Sloan Fellows are:

Emi Nakamura, Associate Professor of Business and Economics, focuses on the empirical underpinnings of macroeconomics, international economics, and industrial organization. As a fellow of the National Bureau of Economic Research, a research affiliate of the Center for Economic Policy Research, and on the technical advisory committee for the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Nakamura’s work is already making an impact on federal data policy.


Assistant Professor of Physics Brian Metzger researches a broad range of topics in theoretical astrophysics, with a focus on high energy and stellar astrophysics. He received his Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Iowa in 2003 and his Doctorate from the University of California, Berkeley in 2009. Prior to arriving at Columbia, Metzger spend three years at Princeton University.


David W. Zalaznick Associate Professor of Business Ilyana Kuziemko studies how government institutions impact inequality. Kuziemko served as Deputy Assistant Secretary for Economic Policy at the US Treasury, where she worked mostly on the development and early implementation of the Affordable Care Act, and continues to examine policy implications in public economics.

“For more than half a century, the Sloan Foundation has been proud to honor the best young scientific minds and support them during a crucial phase of their careers when early funding and recognition can really make a difference,” said Dr. Paul L. Joskow, President of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. “These researchers are pushing the boundaries of scientific knowledge in unprecedented ways.”

Two Columbia Business School Professors Awarded 2014 Sloan Research Fellowships, Columbia Business School, February 2014
Complete List of 2014 Sloan Research Fellows, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, February 2014
Columbia on Facebook Columbia on Twitter Columbia on Google+ Columbia on iTunes U Columbia News RSS Columbia on YouTube


Brown Institute for Media Innovation Grand Opening

In Memoriam: Joseph F. Traub

Professor Joseph F. Traub, founder of the Computer Science department, died Monday, August 24, 2015 in Santa Fe, NM. He was 83. Most recently the Edwin Howard Armstrong Professor of Computer Science, Traub was an early pioneer in the field.

Traub's work on optimal algorithms and computational complexity applied to continuous scientific problems. 

Read more about Professor Traub.

The Record