Awards & Milestones

Soon after graduating from college, Tyler Bickford taught music for a year at a rural Vermont elementary school. Years later, the same school would serve as a rich laboratory for his Columbia dissertation about how kids consume digital media.

Each year, Columbia’s Presidential Teaching Awards spotlight the most dedicated and innovative instructors at the University. The awards are given at Commencement to both faculty members and graduate student instructors.

Richard Hamilton

Richard Hamilton, Davies Professor of Mathematics, has won the 2011 Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences. The Shaw Prize is given annually in three areas: astronomy, life science and medicine, and mathematical sciences. This is the eighth year of the Shaw Prize; awardees will be honored at a ceremony on Wednesday, Sept. 28.

Seven Columbia professors—with expertise ranging from mathematics and genetics to computer science and literature—were elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the nation’s most prestigious and oldest honorary societies.