2024 Pulitzer Prize Winners

Columbia University today announced the 2024 Pulitzer Prizes, awarded on the recommendation of the Pulitzer Prize Board.

May 06, 2024

At 3:00 pm Eastern time today, Marjorie Miller, the Pulitzer Prizes’ administrator, announced the finalists and winners of the 108th annual Pulitzer Prizes in Journalism, Letters, Drama, and Music. 

You can listen in to the full announcement of the awards here:


Public Service

  • ProPublica

Breaking News Reporting

  • Staff of Lookout Santa Cruz

Investigative Reporting

  • Hannah Dreier of The New York Times 

Explanatory Reporting

  • Sarah Stillman of The New Yorker

Local Reporting

  • Sarah Conway of City Bureau and Trina Reynolds-Tyler of the Invisible Institute

National Reporting

  • Staff of Reuters 


  • Staff of The Washington Post

International Reporting 

  • Staff of The New York Times 

Feature Writing

  • Katie Engelhart, contributing writer, The New York Times


  • Vladimir Kara-Murza, contributor, The Washington Post


  • Justin Chang of the Los Angeles Times

Editorial Writing

  • David E. Hoffman of The Washington Post

Illustrated Reporting and Commentary

  • Medar de la Cruz, contributor, The New Yorker 

Breaking News Photography

  • Photography Staff of Reuters

Feature Photography

  • Photography Staff of Associated Press

Audio Reporting

  • Staffs of the Invisible Institute and USG Audio

Letters and Drama


  • "Night Watch" by Jayne Anne Phillips (Knopf) 


  • "Primary Trust" by Eboni Booth


  • "No Right to an Honest Living: The Struggle of Boston’s Black Workers in the Civil War Era" by Jacqueline Jones (Basic Books)


  • "King: A Life" by Jonathan Eig (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)


  • "Master Slave Husband Wife" by Ilyon Woo (Simon & Schuster)

Memoir or Autobiography

  • "Liliana’s Invincible Summer: A Sister’s Search for Justice" by Cristina Rivera Garza (Hogarth)


  • "Tripas: Poems" by Brandon Som (Georgia Review Books)

General Nonfiction

  • "A Day in the Life of Abed Salama: Anatomy of a Jerusalem Tragedy" by Nathan Thrall (Metropolitan Books)


  • "Adagio (For Wadada Leo Smith)" by Tyshawn Sorey, premiered on March 16, 2023 at Atlanta Symphony Hall.

Special Citations

  • Greg Tate
  • Journalists and Media Workers Covering the War in Gaza